The Winter of Heritage programme of events are a series of Free guided tours run by the Heritage Office of Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council. They are suitable for schools, students, families, historic groups and individuals interested in local history. The National Maritime Museum are delighted to participate in this again in Winter 2019.

The Museum is housed in Dún Laoghaire’s 180-year-old Mariners Church, opposite the dlr Lexicon. Experienced guides will bring you on a voyage of discovery enthralling you with stories of discovery, heroism, war and disasters at sea.

You will learn about maritime history, exploration, navigation, radio, deep-sea cable technology, nature and art inspired by the sea and relevant to the school syllabus.

See the revolving Baily Optic, try the electrified steam engine and pause to reflect at the Titanic exhibit, the Royal Navy prisoner’s docks and the war memorial.

Dates:

Wednesday, 23 January 2019 11:00
Monday, 28 January 2019 11:00
Wednesday, 30 January 2019 11:00
Monday, 4 February 2019 11:00
Wednesday, 6 February 2019 11:00
Monday, 11 February 2019 11:00
Wednesday, 13 February 2019 11:00
Monday, 18 February 2019 11:00
Wednesday, 20 February 2019 11:00
Monday, 25 February 2019 11:00
Wednesday, 27 February 2019 11:00

11 Scheduled Dates