A selection for the more discerning patron who savors a bit of tradition and a decent pint.
Bowest Lounge is an established license premises since 1880, we are situated in the heart of Dublin’s fair city, just a stones throw away from the famous Irish landmark Trinity College
31 Fleet Street Dublin 2
Established in 1886 and was at one point a ‘gentleman’s club’ the interior is Baroque in style. Called at one point the Zodiac – the tiling inside has each of the singes of the zodiac around the bar as well as the four seasons one the walls facing Harry St. . The new bar in Harry St adopted the name ‘Bruxelles’ to mark Ireland’s joining the European Economic Community (EEC) In other ways it marked a new beginning too for Dublin pub life and the birth of a new standard and attitude in hospitality.
7 Harry Street, Dublin 2, Dublin
Not to be confused with the pub of the same name on Westmoreland Street, this is a great old public house for a matey meet-up or a solitary drink with only the newspaper for company. If you’re a people watcher, grab a ringside seat at the window and watch the world pass by. The pints are renowned for being expertly pulled, and are on offer at reasonable prices. Quiet on an average weekday afternoon, Cassidy’s really gets going on weekend evenings, and can be absolutely packed on Friday or Saturday nights. There’s a beer garden out back, and if you enjoy traditional Irish music with your gargle, pop in for one of Cassidy’s Sunday Sessions – ballads and folk are played every Sunday from 8pm, and all are welcome.
42 Camden Street Dublin 2
Located on one of Dublin’s most famous streets – Baggot Street, Doheny and Nesbitt public house is surrounded by renowned landmarks – The Dail (House of Parliament), Grafton Street, Trinity College, Stephen’s Green and Lansdowne Road. Otherwise known in literary and debating circles as the ‘The Doheny & Nesbitt School of Economics’ is situated a few hundred meters from the old Huguenot cemetery on Merion Row(1693). Probably the most photographed pub in Dublin, Doheny & Nesbitt is considered an institution for convivial gatherings a sanctuary in which to escape the ravages of modern life, and a shrine to everything that is admirable in a public house. As a Protected Structure and unique example of Victorian pub architecture, the Doheny & Nesbitt public house demonstrates that skilful conversation can rest easily alongside modern commercial demands. Most of the pub’s original features, both inside and outside remain intact. Its distinct Brass sign ‘Tea and Wine Merchant’, as well as the frieze boasting ‘Doheny & Nesbitt’ have spawned countless posters, postcards and guide books paying homage to this asset of Ireland’s capital city If Ireland invented the pub, then Dublin’s finest showpiece is that of Doheny & Nesbitt. The main bar retains the […]
5 Lower Baggot Street, Dublin 2, Dublin
Over the 45 years that have elapsed since, the pub has seen several renovations and transformations but has always retained an identity that is palpable to both locals and visitors. That identity is due in no small part to the family ethos of the pub, with Dan’s sons Donal, Paul and Alan all involved in the management of the business. Another brother Peter successfully ran his own branch of Finnegan’s in Valencia, Spain for twenty years, while Dan’s brothers Ned, James and Hugh were all proprietors of well known pubs in Dublin and Wicklow. It can’t be argued there isn’t pedigree! Major reformation work took place in 2001 and 2005, but throughout, the original Victorian facade and many of the interior features, including the ornate roof and back bar, remained untouched. Indeed a photograph of the pub in 1910 when it was known as O’ Meara’s, shows the facade exactly as it is now and many of the colourful characters in the shot have family members who still frequent the bar!
2 Sorrento Road Dalkey Co Dublin
Good pint. Nice seating area outside, if not a little hectic. Very eclectic range of art (for sale) inside. No TV – so simply don’t ask. They have cornered the market in Toasted Sandwiches!
15 William Street South, Dublin 2, Dublin
Kehoe’s Bar was first licensed in 1803 when the winds of revolution permeated the Dublin air, this authentic, unpretentious Victorian shrine is one of last great heritage pubs of Dublin. The interior throughout Kehoe’s is the product of a Victorian style renovation completed towards the end of the 19th century which has been preserved to the present day. Nowadays this old pub is the buzzing haunt of tourists, scholars, shoppers and business people alike. The Grocery and Snug Bar Entering this pub lovers haven, you will be instantly confronted by the austerity and subdued colourings of the Victorian age. When visiting Kehoe’s take note of the original mahogany drawers, behind the low grocery counter, which once housed rice, tea, coffee, snuffs and other provisions items. In its former Existence this area was frequented by shoppers of the age who could slip in and enjoy a triple in the snug while the proprietor prepared the provisions order. Everything here remains as it was 100 years ago, including the serving hatch and buzzer in the snug.
10 Anne Street South, Dublin 2, Dublin
The building that houses McDaids can be traced back to the late 18th century and is reputed to have housed the City Morgue. It took on it’s more ecclesiastical features when it was taken over by the Moravian Brothers some time later. They developed the practice of standing their corpses in a vertical position and it’s suggested this may be the reason for the very high ceilings in the pub. It went through a litany of owners including John Nolan who had the pub at the turn of the 20th Century and it was known as William Daly’s Bar before John McDaid purchased the pub in 1936.
7 Harry Street, Dublin 2, Dublin
Mulligan’s is more than a Dublin pub; it is an Irish cultural phenomenon. It has a unique and colourful history, spanning over two hundred years. Mulligan’s has hosted the famous Judy Garland, Seamus Heaney, Con Houlihan, James Joyce and John F. Kennedy. Quirkiness pervades its atmosphere. The ashes of a US tourist are interred in its clock. Barmen have seen ghosts on the premises. For decades, performers at the Theatre Royal thronged to Mulligan’s, mingling with journalists from ‘The Irish Press’ who smoked, fumed and interviewed celebrities in it. This fascinating pub encapsulates an atmosphere and essence loved by both natives and tourists alike. Customers will regale you with lore and lies of the days of half a century ago when doughty dockers from the great port rubbed shoulders with the celebrities from the world famous Theatre Royal across the street, the newspaper men from de Valera’s Irish Press Group next door and the freshmen from the local and ancient Trinity College, who in banter (now called craic) got the ‘hard times’ from the other groups at the bar. Many of these then students, now eminent men and women in many walks of life across the world, continue to return […]
8 Poolbeg Street, Dublin 2, Dublin
Neary’s is a UNESCO City of Literature Bar located in Dublin City Centre. The connection to acting and the literary community date’s back to 1871 when the Gaiety theatre opened. The stage door to the Gaiety theatre is located opposite the rear entrance to Neary’s. Famous patrons over the years include Maureen Potter, Jimmy O’Dea, Flann O’Brien and Ronnie Drew to name but a few. Neary’s is one of a small number of bars with no television or music, where conversation is a valued commodity. The street on which Neary’s is located, Chatham Street, dates back to 1773 and appears unnamed and practically a cul-de sac on that years edition of Rocque’s Plan of Dublin. While in the same year it is shown as part of the Dublin Corporation Estate, a section called “Flint’s Croft” on a manuscript plan in the famous Longfield map collection now held in the National Library. Chatham Street dates from 1785, and named after the Earl of Chatham according to “Dublin Street Names”, it recalls William Pitt Elder, (afterwards Earl of Chatham) who collapsed in the middle of a speech in Parliament opposing any recognition of the “revolting American colonists”. Records from the “General Valuation of Ireland” – City of […]
3 Chatham St, Dublin 2, Dublin
The Norseman building as a watering hole dates back to the 1500’s when it was known as the Wooden Man Tavern due to a wooden Viking figure on the corner of the street. We are The Norseman Temple Bar 1696 as this was the year the premises was First Licenced! James Monks owned the establishment in the 1840s. James bonded whiskey for Jameson and we have an original label sent by his great great granddaughter. We still take pride in working with local distillers including Dublin’s own distillery Teeling. The pub originally took the name The Norseman as a nod to the Wooden Man Viking in our own history and the local Viking history from the discovery in the 70’s of Viking ships and artefacts on Wood quay.
27 East Essex Street Temple Bar Dublin 2
In 1934 Paddy and Maureen O’Donoghue began running the bar It was during this time the Pub is became famous for the nightly traditional Irish music sessions and was where the popular Irish folk group, the Dubliners formed their band. Many other notable Irish musicians from The Fureys to, Seamus Ennis, Joe Heaney have played at O’Donoghue’s and their photographs line the walls from top to bottom. O’Donoghue’s has a rich heritage and stands on a very historical site in Dublin City. Yet it’s more modern musical history is really the stuff of legends. Ask any Irish man to name the artists or bands that have shaped Irish traditional and contemporary music and The name of the Dubliners always comes up. Christy Moore and the Dubliners have spent many a memorable night entertaining Dublin’s music lovers in our bar. It is this spirit that is kept alive by today’s musicians who play amongst an array of drawings and photos of Irish musicians that adorn the walls of O’Donoghue’s., Merrion Row Music is a huge part of Dublin’s History and traditional Irish music has a home right here in O’Donoghue’s famous bar. A favourite of Christy Moore and the Dubliners amongst […]
15 Merrion Row, Dublin City
Situated in the historic heart of Dublin just a stones throw from Temple Bar is O´Neill´s Pub. Around the corner from Trinity College, Grafton Street and the world-famous Molly Malone Statue, it´s the perfect place for a quiet pint, a tasty meal or a lively music session or just to rest your feet for a while. You´ll always be sure of a warm, friendly welcome. O’Neill’s is a genuine traditional Old Irish pub renowned for its friendly staff and patrons, its great atmosphere and world-famous food. It looks like a regular pub from the outside, but inside it’s a pleasure to drink in, with its various nooks and crannies, upstairs and down. Whether you want to enjoy the great pub atmosphere or find a quite corner for yourself, O’Neill’s have it all.
2 Suffolk Street, Dublin 2, Dublin
Ryan’s of Parkgate Street is an original Victorian public house located near the front gate of the Phoenix Park. Made famous for pouring one of the best pints in Dublin, it’s now also gaining a reputation for it’s popular oyster bar. At Ryan’s you can still see many of its original Victorian features such as gas lamps, whiskey barrels, tea drawers and traditional snugs. The barmen are slightly more recent. Ryan’s has two original snug bars, which were used in the 1900’s by ladies when it was frowned upon for women to be seen in pubs. Our famous clock is the oldest two-faced clock in Ireland. Made by Frengly Brothers in Germany, it’s been watching the world go by for over 130 years.
28 Parkgate Street Dublin 7
Slatterys Bar & Early House, loved by locals and visitors alike is famous for among many other things its full Irish breakfast, served from 7 a.m six days a week and 12.30 p.m on Sundays. From a toasted sandwich to a full Irish – We cater for all appetites! We open at 7.00 a.m every day except Sunday when we open at 12.30 p.m. Traditional Irish Fare Food served from 8am until 9.30pm 6 days a week and from 12.30 p.m. to 9.30 p.m. on Sundays.
129 Capel St, North City, Dublin 1, D01 YN83
The Brazen Head is Irelands oldest pub. In fact there has been a hostelry here since 1198. The present building was built in 1754 as a coaching inn. However The Brazen Head appears in documents as far back as 1653. An advertisement from the 1750’s reads “Christopher Quinn of The Brazen Head in Bridge Street has fitted said house with neat accommodations and commodious cellars for said business” The Brazen Head is located on Bridge Street. This is the area from where the original settlement that was to become Dublin got its name. The Irish name for Dublin is Baile Atha Cliath – (pronounced: Ball-ya-Awha-Clia) which means “The Town of the Ford of the Reed Hurdles”. Beside the pub is the Father Matthew Bridge crosses the river Liffey. It was at this very spot that the original crossing of the river was located. Here reed matting was positioned on the river bed which enabled travellers to cross safely at low tide.
20 Lower Bridge Street, Dublin 8, Dublin
The Hut is a family owned traditional Victorian bar on Dublin’s North side. We offer a genuinely authentic slice of Dublin pub life as it should be. No hype, no gimmicks. Just old fashioned pub values of good food, quality drinks and a warm, friendly atmosphere. Our aim is to provide a relaxed and enjoyable social experience to all who enter. At The Hut there are no strangers ….. only good friends you haven’t met! Your satisfaction is our priority and for that reason we will always do our best to please. If we get something wrong be sure to let us know and we will make every effort to correct it. As a customer of our pub we value your comments and suggestions as to how we can increase the enjoyment of your visit.
159 Phibsboro Road Phibsboro Dublin 7
There is little doubt that the building which houses this famed Dublin public house is over two hundred years old. In 1854 the registered licence holder was John Dunne and in 1886 the pub was sold to the O’Donohoe family and was named the International Bar. Since then the pub has retained it’s original Victorian decor which includes a wonderfully ornate hand-carved mahogany one-piece reredos. The carvings are of the river gods of Ireland and match in perfectly with the oak barrels and brass taps where once whiskey, porter and wine were poured liberally into thirsty drinkers glasses. Joyce mentioned the pub as Ruggy O’Donohoe’s as there was a tradition in Dublin to refer to the pub not by it’s name but by that of the licence holder. It is no small boast the owners ot the International Bar are the same O’Donohoe family who took over in the 1880′s making it Dublin’s oldest family owned bar. Over the years the International has played host to a vast array of litarary and political characters. From Michael Collins to Brendan Behan, JP Donleavy to Paddy Kavanagh, poets, dreamers, musicians and even the occasional artist such as Harry Kernoff have enjoyed the […]
23 Wicklow Street, Dublin 2, Dublin
Celebrating over 250 years in business. Established in 1766 this shrine to antiquity is one of Dublin’s oldest, most beautiful and best loved pubs, abundant in traditional charm and exuding genuine Victorian originality, the interior dates from 1881. The title The Long Hall is derived from Dublin publore as a consequence of the long narrow hallway snug, that ran parallel to the back bar. The pub is the product of splendid Victorian design symmetry in which the sum of its parts including elaborate gold leaf enhancements, meticulous handcrafted wood carvings, beveled and ornate glass all come together to create one of the iconic and leading lights of 20th century Dublin publife.
59 S Great Georges St, Dublin 2, Dublin
The Palace was was built in 1823 and soon after was bought by a family named Hall. In the early 1900’s The Ryan family from Tipperary took over the pub and “The Widow Ryan” sold the pub to Bill Aherne in 1946 for the sum of £27,000, which was a huge amount at the time. Many people thought he was crazy to pay such an amount but Bill always maintained he knew he had got a bargain.
20 Fleet Street, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Dublin
Visiting the Stag’s Head is a wondrous experience wether you call when the premises is cosy, warm and glowing at night time, or in early morning when this is old repository of liquid culture is radiantly illuminated by wafts of sunlight filtering through the stained glass windows. The mahogany bar, capped with red Connemara marble, follows the classic Victorian architectural pattern, being long and punctuated by exquisite partitions that divide into private compartments or stalls. Though a tavern has existed on this site since the 1780’s, this premises first attained great fame in the 1830’s as ‘John Bull’s Albion Hotel and Tavern’. This was one of the most sought after premises of the age in close proximity to ‘Dublin’s Theatreland’ and the fashionable stores of Dame Street and College Green. A popular music hall business was developed on the site, a trend continued by proprietors Alica and Henry Murphy during the 1840’s. William Wormington succeeded them here in the 1860’s and James Kennedy took the reins in the 1880’s.
1 Dame Court, Dublin 2, Dublin
The unspoilt Victorian showcase that you see before you today was undertaken by Thomas F. O’Reilly in 1897, and by this stage the name of the premises was familiarly shortened to ‘The Swan’. Georges Street was then the most important thoroughfare in Dublin’s narrative and The Swan did a thriving wine, beer and spirits trade in addition to essential grocery items like tea, sugar, coffee, cocoa, snuff and semolina. John Francis ‘Sean’ Lynch (born 22 September 1942) is a former Ireland international rugby union player. Lynch was capped fifteen times as a prop for Ireland between 1971 and 1975 and toured New Zealand in 1971 with the British and Irish Lions playing in all four tests against the All Blacks. He played club rugby for St. Mary’s College R.F.C. This revered icon of Irish Licensed heritage has dispensed sustenance, shelter and social culture to the citizenry of Dublin for the last six centuries. Totally unique amongst Dublin pubs, The Swan is an authentic Victorian pub that is descended from a Medieval Inn. There has been a continuous licence on or close to this site since 1661 when Sir Francis Aungier developed what was then Dublin’s widest street.
Aungier Street Dublin 2
Situated on Baggot Street, Toners is one of Dublin’s oldest and most famous traditional pubs. To prove this, we were the overall winners of “Best Traditional Pub” in the National Hospitality Awards 2014. In September 2015 we also won Dublin Bar of the Year at the Sky Bar of the Year Awards. Original features in the pub take visitors back in time, including the old stock drawers behind the bar from when Toners first opened in 1818 as a bar and grocery shop. The interior details like the glazed cabinets filled with curio, elaborate mirrors, the brass bar taps and flagstone floors to mention a few, makes you feel like you are stepping in to a museum… A museum in which you can drink in! Frequented by many of Ireland’s literary greats, including Patrick Kavanagh, the pub was also a favourite spot of W.B. Yeats and the snug is said to be the only place he would drink when he took an occasional tipple.
139 Baggot Street Lower, Dublin 2, Dublin